Exposing Hillary So She Won't Get Elected

Sen. Ted Cruz And Rep. Ron DeSantis File An Amendment To Impose Term Limits On Members Of Congress

Sen. Ted Cruz and Rep. Ron DeSantis recently filed an amendment to impose term limits on members of Congress.

Under the amendment senators would only be able to serve two six-year terms, and House representatives would only be able to serve three two-year terms.

“D.C. is broken,” Cruz said. “The American people resoundingly agreed on Election Day, and President-elect Donald Trump has committed to putting government back to work for the American people. It is well past time to put an end to the cronyism and deceit that has transformed Washington into a graveyard of good intentions.”

“The time is now for Congress, with the overwhelming support of the American people, to submit this constitutional amendment to the states for speedy ratification,” Cruz continued. “With control of a decisive majority of the states, the House of Representatives, and the Senate, we have a responsibility to answer the voters’ call-to-action. We must deliver.”

“Term limits are the first step towards reforming Capitol Hill,” DeSantis added. “Eliminating the political elite and infusing Washington with new blood will restore the citizen legislature that our Founding Fathers envisioned. The American people have called for increased accountability and we must deliver. Senator Cruz has been instrumental in efforts to hold Congress accountable, and I look forward to working with him to implement term limits.”

While many lawmakers are hesitant to impose term limits on themselves, some– like Sens. Mike Lee (Utah), Deb Fischer (Neb.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Thom Tillis (N.C.) and David Perdue (Ga.)– are on board.

It will be a tough battle as the amendment would have to pass through both champers and be approved by three-fourths of the state legislatures, but at least it is a start.